LaFayette County
LaFayette County
LaFayette County
Start of Navigation
 Budget and Financials
 County Board/ Supervisors
 Election Results
 Lafayette County Fair
 Official Directory 2018-2019
 Plat Books
 Staff Directory
 Tax & Mapping Information
 Tax Foreclosure Auction
 Contact Us

Department Detail:  County Clerk

Department County Clerk
Elected Official Carla  Jacobson
Address 626 Main Street
P.O. Box 40
Darlington, Wisconsin  53530
Phone Number 608-776-4856, Ext. 256
Alt. Phone Number 608-776-4850, Ext. 250
Fax Number 608-776-8893
Staff County Clerk Staff
Office Hours 8:00 a.m., to 4:30 p.m.

  • Marriage Licenses
  • Child Labor Permits
  • Dog Licenses - Dog License is obtained from your LOCAL municipal Treasurer.


  • Administer and coordinate elections
  • Voter Information
  • Polling Places
  • Municipal Clerks


  • Prepare and post meeting agendas
  • Publish meeting minutes
  • Maintain official county board and committee records
Public Information

Information regarding


Carla M. Jacobson

County Clerk, Lafayette County


WHERE TO APPLY:                   

County Clerk's Office, Courthouse.

Hours 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., Monday through Friday

Closed Saturdays, Sundays, and Legal Holidays


It is highly recommended that you arrive at the clerk's office no later than 4:00 p.m.


WHEN TO APPLY:  Application should be made 10 to 20 days before the ceremony.  License is good for 30 days from issuance date. 


PERSONS WHO MAY NOT APPLY:  Blood relatives - Nearer of kin than second cousins - except when the female is 55 years of age or older. 


A person under the age of 16. 


Persons who have not been divorced for six months, whether the divorce was granted in Wisconsin or elsewhere.


AGE:  Every person who has attained the age of 18 years is of age to marry. If a person is between the age of 16 and 18 years, a license may be issued with the written consent of the person=s parent(s), guardian, or custodian.  If the minor applicant has two parents, guardians or legal custodians, both persons must sign the consent form.  This form must be executed at time of application, before the County Clerk or certified in writing and verified before a Notary Public.


WAITING PERIOD:  Five days after application is made, the license will be issued and is good for 30 days from this date. 


Special Dispensation: The five day waiting period is required by law but may be waived at the County Clerk's discretion.  The waiver is issued through the County Clerk.  A $25.00 fee is charged.


FEE:  The cost of a marriage license is $75.00


REQUIREMENTS:  Male and Female- Both must file at time of application documentary proof of identification and residence.  They must have a certified copy of birth certificate.  If previously married, the copy of death certificate, court annulment papers or signed judgment of divorce is required. 



1.      Both parties come to this office to make application.

2.      Five days after application is made, the license will be issued and is good for 30 days from issuance date. Residents of state must apply before the County Clerk of the county in which either is a resident.  One of the applicants must have resided in this county for at least thirty days.  They may be married in any county of the state. Non-residents must be married in the county where the application is applied for.


Witnesses to a marriage who sign the certificate must be 18 years of age. Also: Bring in the complete name, mailing address, & phone number of the person who is going to perform the ceremony for you.

Return to Previous  

Horizontal Line